Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
A really simple question

[eluser]daulex[/eluser]
Ok, I'm a real newbie to coding/developing (I'm a designer with 6 years behind my back in photoshop and xhmtl), but I am getting quite bored with it and I decided to learn php(and everything that comes with it like mysql and ajax stuff), thought to start up with php.com, but then found out about codeigniter.com and the CI framework, man this stuff rocks, can't wait to learn a bit more and push it as far as I could.

So, to begin with, I went and watched both the tutorials that you got on the main page, built the blog and it was working and yeah, everything is great, I'm getting the hang of functions and more or less how CI works, however I still don't know the basics and its obvious that its hard to run without being able to walk properly...

So I wanted to understand how to call content from the database one by one, I learned this way:
Code:
function index () {
    $data['title'] = "Galenko.co.uk - Our services";
    $this->db->where('title',$this->uri->segment(2));
    $data['query']= $this->db->get('pages');
    $this->load->view('services', $data);
    }
and the view:
Code:
<title><?=$title?></title>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="<?=base_url();?>system/application/views/css/style.css" media="screen, print" />
</head>
<body>
<? foreach($query->result() as $row): ?>
<h3>&lt;?=$row->title?&gt;</h3>
<p>&lt;?=$row->body?&gt;</p>
&lt;? endforeach;?&gt;

So there probably is a better(and/or faster) way to do it, the database structure I am using (no idea if this is the proper way or not) is:
Code:
-- phpMyAdmin SQL Dump
-- version 2.11.4
-- http://www.phpmyadmin.net
--
-- Host: localhost
-- Generation Time: May 28, 2008 at 11:38 AM
-- Server version: 5.0.51
-- PHP Version: 5.2.5

SET SQL_MODE="NO_AUTO_VALUE_ON_ZERO";

--
-- Database: `ci`
--

-- --------------------------------------------------------

--
-- Table structure for table `pages`
--