Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Newbie confusion about the database docs

[eluser]Doug Lerner[/eluser]
I'm finding the database docs very confusing. I have no real experience in MySQL (I've always used a different, proprietary database) and I'm trying to learn to use the active record pattern syntax because of all the benefits mentioned. But all the examples just say "this active record syntax is equivalent to such-and-such an SQL query", without explaining what either means.

And then there are all these places in the docs like this where it says something like "consider this example":
Code:
$this->db->select('title')->from('mytable')->where('id', $id)->limit(10, 20);

$query = $this->db->get();

But it doesn't say what the example is accomplishing, what the the return values are, how the first statement relates to the second statement with the get() in it, what the value of $query is when all done (is it an object? a single value? a field name?)

I can sort of guess from the variable names that this is searching from among the title fields in the table 'mytable" for a certain id and that the results are somehow limited (but by what I don't know).

Anyway, is there any "pre-documentation" that anybody can recommend that can make the CodeIgniter docs more understandable for somebody who doesn't understand SQL query syntax to start with?

And to the doc writers, can I suggest at least including what the return value types are with the examples?

Thanks for any assistance!

doug

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
The example says: select all the title columns from the table mytable where the id is $id start from row 10 and limit the result to 20 rows. It's almost plain English.

The get method executes the query and returns a object that makes it possible to get the results if the query is returned without errors. By assigning the object to a variable you can use the object to get the result of the query in the way you want.