Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Examples of using the Model class?

[eluser]Doug Lerner[/eluser]
Hi, I am a newbie to CI.

Are there any examples of small apps that make use of the Model class and active records to create a database, create some tables, add/modify/delete records and some basic things like that?

I think if I can see one basic example that puts it all together it would make things a lot clearer.

Thanks!

doug

[eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser]
[quote author="Doug Lerner" date="1215518910"]I think if I can see one basic example that puts it all together it would make things a lot clearer.[/quote]

Here's a good example. This Model method handles the saving of an object (whether it is a new object or a pre-existing one), in this case, a User.

A seemingly simple operation easily comes quite complex. However, by keeping this in a model, you make your edit user and create user controller methods much more simple, leaving room for the complexity of validation, etc.

Code:
function save_user($user)
   {
      $status = FALSE;
      $this->ci->load->library('encrypt');

// Prepare core user data and insert/update new user model
      if (!isset($user->uid))
      {
         $user->uid = FALSE;
      }
      // Encrypt password
      $user->password = $this->ci->encrypt->encode($user->password);
      // Set created time to GMT in absence of an existing time (like new account)
      if (!isset($user->created) or $user->created == '')
      {
         $now = time();
         $user->created = gmdate("U", $now);  
      }
      $user_data = array(
         $user->uid,
         $user->created,
         $user->email,
         $user->password,
         $user->status,
         // Funny way to handle our bindings and ON DUPLICATE KEY UPDATE values, but it's effective
         $user->created,
         $user->email,
         $user->password,
         $user->status,
      );
      if ($user->uid)
      {