Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Video Tutorials Outdated

[eluser]Vamsii[/eluser]
Yeah..some one has to do them ..

[eluser]alboyd[/eluser]
Why do you need the old "blog in 20 minutes" tutorial to be redone? Just look around there are plenty of video tutorials that are on 2.0 and more will be coming I'm sure. Most are probably more useful and relevant than creating a blog - who would ever create their own blog when you could just as easily integrate Wordpress into your CI project if you wanted to!

[eluser]igniter_guest[/eluser]
I had hoped installing and configuring CodeIgniter would be straight forward however it has taken me all day!

And then I have spent ages trawling to find out why the video tutorials are giving me errors!

I think you guys need to tidy up the documentation/website as it seems to be a bit out of step with the current version (2.1.0).

Okay, now that I have got that off my chest...

I am new to MVC and CodeIgniter and there is one problem in the second tutorial that I can't seem to find an answer too:

$this->load->scaffolding('entries');

The above line in the blog controller throws the following error:
Fatal error: Call to undefined method CI_Loader:Confusedcaffolding() in E:\XAMPP\htdocs\_codeigniter-application\controllers\blog.php on line 11

Any ideas what needs changed to get past this?

Help appreciated.

[eluser]PhilTem[/eluser]
@igniter_guest There's no more 'scaffolding' method inside the loader. I don't know what it was supposed to do (since I started using CI as version 2.0.1 dropped off) and therefore I can't show you the right command.

Maybe they had some crud-model generator within CI 1.7.x? Maybe some of the older people or CI developers may shed some light.

Thanks PhilTem,
I think I have spent enough time fiddling with CodeIgniter to get it up and running for the time being.
The easiest solution is probably to manually add the test entries to the blog database.